Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina

Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina
Zoom image

Our previous price 899,00 EUR
Now only 719,20 EUR
you save 20 % / 179,80 EUR

excl. Shipping costs

Shipping time: 3-4 Days

Product no.: 311
Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina

Instrument:
Really beautiful looking hybrid, usable for steel and nylon strings. This one has the classic string through bridge. Here’s what Höfner guru Steve Russel wrote: “A rather unusual guitar, with the five-piece neck of the contemporary President model, including lily of the valley headstock inlays, but mounted on a 24" long by 16" wide flattop body, complete with circular soundhole. Hofner themselves seems to have been pretty confused with this model, as generally it was produced with nylon strings but it some were also fitted with steel strings!” Back then, when mainly archtops have been demanded in Germany, the 495 S was ahead of time. Not a great success then, but now – over 50 years later – she’s a rare and demanded collectors item. Handwritten date beneath the top is 5.6.1963 (see picture), so it's a late 495 S.

Material:
The top is made of massive spruce – manufactured as one piece! Sides and back are made of laminated mahogany, upper back layer also extensively made of one piece. The maple neck has five layers, including two mahogany stripes in the center. Neck and headstock are one piece! Wonderful floral designed inlays at the headstock, the typical mid and upper range Höfner design that day. Rosewood fingerboard and bridge, open original tuners. Massive multi layer bindings and purflings all around the body.

Instruments history:
Unknown. Must have been refretted some time ago. She must have been played very often – play wear at the top and overwhelming, warm sound prove for it. Unfortunately the Höfner logo disappeared, we don’t know how and when.

Restoration works:
Extensive in- and outside cleaning, frets slightly polished, fingerboard oiled. We clearly decided against refurbishing the top. It yould be a pity to eliminate the true patina.

Actual condition:
That’s vintage at its best, this guitar represents the fifties and long passed former times! A sixty years old gem, showing its fulfilled life. Beautiful authentic patina and everything I fully original condition. Also very flexible: top bracings tolerate both nylon and steel string usage! We checked both, but prefer steel strings. Full and assertive sound, warm and well balanced – greetings from the massive top. Fingerboard has a plain shape like classic guitars. It’s quite wide, very small hands might have some trouble with it. Everything works perfectly, playability is great, string action with 3 mm at 12th fret at its best. Overall really a rare opportunity for players and collectors!

Measures:
Overall length 105 cm, body length 51,5 cm, lower bout width 41 cm, waist width 25 cm, upper bout width 30,5 cm; body depth 9,5 cm at neck, 10 cm at lower bout, widest range in the middle of the body; scale length 64 cm (zero fret to saddle), fingerboard width 5 cm at nut, 6 cm at 12th fret; overall weight 1.900 g, string action on 12th fret 3 mm.

Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina Steelstring-classic-hybrid Höfner 495 S from 1963, 100% original condition with nice patina

Shopping cart

You do not have any products in your shopping cart yet.

Welcome back!

E-mail address:
Password:
Forgot your password?

Payment Options

PayPal

ODR dispute settlement

Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina

Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina
Bild vergrößern

Unser bisheriger Preis 899,00 EUR
Jetzt nur 719,20 EUR
Sie sparen 20 % / 179,80 EUR

zzgl. Versandkosten

Lieferzeit: 3-4 Tage

Art.Nr.: 311
Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina

Instrument:
Wunderschöner Hybrid, sowohl für Nylon- als auch Stahlsaiten geeignet und gebaut. Diese hier hat die Nylonsaitenbrücke. Dazu schreibt Höfner-Guru Steve Russell: “Eine ungewöhnliche Gitarre mit dem fünfteiligen Hals des damaligen Präsident-Modells, einschließlich der Lily of the Valley (Maiglöckchen) Kopfplatten-Einlegearbeiten. Dieser wurde auf einen 24“ langen und 16“ breiten Westerngitarrenkorpus in Jumboform mit rundem Schallloch montiert. Offensichtlich war Höfner selbst etwas verwirrt, denn dieses Modell wurde sowohl mit Nylon- als auch Stahlsaitenbrücke produziert!“ Zu Zeiten, in denen in Deutschland noch Schlaggitarren (Jazzgitarren) stark in Mode waren, war die 459 S ihrer Zeit voraus, kein großer Verkaufserfolg, aber damit ist sie heute, über 50 Jahre später, ein seltenes, gesuchtes Sammlerstück. Das handschriftliche Datum unter Decke lautet 5.6.1963 (siehe Foto), damit ist sie eine der späten 495er.

Material:
Die Decke ist aus massiver Fichte – einteilig gearbeitet! Rücken und Seiten sind aus laminiertem Mahagoni, der Rücken ebenfalls aufwändig aus einem Teil! Der inkl. Kopfplatte aus einem Stück gefertigte, fünfteilig längs verleimte Hals ist aus Ahorn und hat zwei Mahagonistreifen. Wunderschöne florale Einlagen auf der Kopfplatte, typisch für die höherwertigen Höfner-Modelle dieser Zeit. Palisander-Griffbrett und –Saitenhalter, offene Original-Mechaniken. Dicke, mehrlagige Bindings um den Korpus.

Geschichte:
Unbekannt. Die Gitarre wurde offenbar irgendwann einmal neu bundiert. Sie wurde garantiert sehr häufig gespielt – die Spielspuren auf der Decke und der herrliche, warme Klang belegen es. Leider ist das Höfner-Logo abhanden gekommen, wir wissen nicht, wann und warum.

Restaurierungsarbeiten:
Komplettreinigung, Korpus ausgeblasen. Bundstäbchen poliert, Griffbrett eingeölt. Wir haben uns bewusst dagegen entschieden, die Decke zu überarbeiten. Es wäre schade um die echte Patina.

Aktueller Zustand:
Das ist Vintage vom feinsten, diese Gitarre atmet die fünfziger Jahre! Ein 60 Jahre altes Instrument, das zeigt, dass es schon viel erlebt hat. Wunderschöne und authentische Patina und alles im Originalzustand. Dabei extrem vielseitig: Der Deckenaufbau verträgt sowohl Nylon- als auch Stahlsaiten! Wir haben beides ausprobiert, mehr überzeugt hat sie uns mit Stahlsaiten. Voller Klang, schnelle Ansprache, langes Sustain, wunderbar ausgewogene Bässe und Höhen – die massive Decke lässt grüßen. Der Hals hat ein gerades Griffbrett in Klassikmanier und ist auch recht breit. Zu kleine Hände könnten hier Probleme bekommen. Alles funktioniert perfekt und ist intakt, die Spielbarkeit ist einwandfrei, die Saitenlage mit 3 mm am 12. Bund hervorragend flach. Dies ist eine seltene Gelegenheit für Spieler und Sammler!

Maße:
Länge über alles 105 cm; Länge Korpus 51,5 cm; Unterbug 41 cm, Taille 25 cm, Oberbug 30,5 cm; Zargenhöhe 9,5 cm am Hals, 10 cm am Unterbug, in der Korpusmitte am dicksten; Mensur 64 cm (Nullbund bis Steg); Breite Griffbrett am Nullbund 5 cm, am 12. Bund 6 cm; Gewicht 1.900 g; Saitenabstand 12. Bund 3 mm.

Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina Western-Klassik-Hybrid Höfner 495 S von 1963, 100% original mit schöner Patina

Warenkorb

Ihr Warenkorb ist leer.

Willkommen zurück!

E-Mail-Adresse:
Passwort:
Passwort vergessen?

Zahlungsmöglichkeiten

PayPal

ODR Streitschlichtung